Our Staff

Global Initiatives


Lisa J. Montoya, Ph.D.

Vice Provost for Global Initiatives and Senior International Officer

Email: lisa.montoya@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7211

I can assist with:

Providing institutional leadership in pursuing, shaping, and supporting UTSA’s goals for advancing comprehensive internationalization

John Murphy, Ph.D.

Associate Vice Provost, Global Initiatives Executive Director, UTSA Global Study Center - Italy

Email: john.murphy@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-3026

I can assist with:

Programming at UTSA Global Study Center at Urbino, Italy

International education degree partnerships: Europe

International research collaboration: Europe

Diana Lomas

Admin Services Officer II

Email: diana.lomas@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7211

I can assist with:

Domestic and International Travel Reqeust

Delegations, Agreements, and Partnerships

International Risk Management

Carelli De la Garza Torres

Senior Program Manager

Email: carelli.delagarzatorres@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7231

I can assist with:

Advising on Global Learning Programs

Delegations, Agreements, and Partnerships 

Official Communications and Protocol

 

 

Jacqueline Guillen

Program Specialist

Email: jacqueline.guillen@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-8115

I can assist with:

Scheduling Meetings

Special Programs

 

Joseph Ortiz

Budget Specialist

Email: joseph.ortiz@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-8550

I can assist with:

Budgets and purchasing

Adminstrative and personnel issues

 

 

Leidy Bello

Project Specialist

Email: leidy.bellocristancho@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7231

I can assist with:

San Antonio Language Academy questions

Advising on Global Learning Programs

Enkhsaruul Seixas Brito

TU Darmstadt Liaison at UTSA

Email: enkhsaruul.seixasbrito@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7211

I can assist with:

Strategic program development of Technical University Darmstadt/Germany

Being an additional central contact point for students, faculty, and staff interested in TU Darmstadt

International Services


International Scholar and Student Services


Ashley Wallace

Director, International Scholar and Student Services

Email: ashley.wallace@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-8510

I can assist with:

Hiring foreign faculty and researchers

Visa/immigration documents 

Health insurance questions (International Students)

Rafael Fersaca

Sr. Advisor, International Students

Email: rafael.fersaca@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7261

I can assist with:

Student and Scholar Visa Questions

International Student internship/off-campus employment questions

International Student Immigration Questions: extension, enrollment, etc.

Colin Howlett

Advisor, International Students

Email: colin.howlett@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-6571

I can assist with:

Student Visa Questions

International Student internship/off-campus employment questions

International Student Immigration Questions: extension, enrollment, etc.

Study Abroad


Rosa Virginia Mendez

Program Manager, Study Abroad

Email: rosavirginia.mendez@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-8202

I can assist with:

Study Abroad Opportunities

Study Abroad Transcripts and Credits

General Study Abroad Questions

English Language Center


Blanca Pokorney

Director, English Language Center

Email: blanca.pokorney@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-6136

I can assist with:

Consultation on the development and implementation of English as a Second Language Programs

Personal and academic advising for international students enrolled in the English Language Center Programs

Teresa Valadez

Project Specialist, English Language Center

Email: teresa.valadez@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-7677

I can assist with:

English Language Center Programs application process

Conversation Partners and Conversation Club programs

Additional ESL resources (tutoring, workshops, campus resources)

Luz Torres Leon

Project Specialist

Email: luz.torresleon@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-7677

I can assist with:

English Language Center Programs application process

Conversation Partners and Conversation Club programs

Additional ESL resources (tutoring, workshops, campus resources)

Minako Shibazaki

Master Instructor and Lead Curriculum Specialist, English Language Center

Email: minako.shibazaki@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-7677

I can assist with:

Teaching, counseling, and assessing students enrolled in the English Language Center programs.

Choosing textbooks and designing lesson plans.

Laila Aghai

ESL Specialist, English Language Center

Email: Laila.Aghai@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-8177

I can assist with :

English Language Center Services

English for Academic Purposes Program

 

Monique Adams

ESL Specialist

Email: monique.adams@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-8177

I can assist with:

English Language Center Services

English for Academic Purposes Program

TOEFL Exam

Sarah Munsell

ESL Specialist

Email: Sarah.munsell@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-8177

I can assist with:

English Language Center Services

English for Academic Purposes Program

TOEFL Exam