Our Staff

Global Initiatives


Lisa J. Montoya, Ph.D.

Vice Provost for Global Initiatives and Senior International Officer

Email: lisa.montoya@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7211

I can assist with:

Providing institutional leadership in pursuing, shaping, and supporting UTSA’s goals for advancing comprehensive internationalization

John Murphy, Ph.D.

Associate Vice Provost, Global Initiatives Executive Director, UTSA Global Center - Italy

Email: john.murphy@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-3026

I can assist with:

Programming at UTSA Global Center at Urbino, Italy

International education degree partnerships: Europe

International research collaboration: Europe

Carelli De la Garza Torres

Program Manager

Email: carelli.delagarzatorres@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7231

I can assist with:

San Antonio Language Academy questions

Advising on Global Learning Programs

 

 

Hannah Evans

Global Relations Advisor

Email: hannah.evans@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-5074

I can assist with:

International Delegations

Advising on special initiatives

Global Relations and Agreements

Jacqueline Hernandez

Project Specialist

Email: jacqueline.hernandez@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7370

I can assist with:

Scheduling Meetings

Special Programs

 

Joseph Ortiz

Budget Specialist

Email: joseph.ortiz@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-8550

I can assist with:

Budgets and purchasing

Adminstrative and personnel issues

 

 

Leidy Bello

Project Specialist

Email: leidy.bellocristancho@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7231

I can assist with:

San Antonio Language Academy questions

Advising on Global Learning Programs

International Services


Sarah Elsunni

Project Specialist, International Services

Email: sarah.elsunni@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-8550

I can assist with:

Student Education Abroad Opportunities

International Student Involvement Opportunities

International Student Resources

International Scholar and Student Services


Ashley Wallace

Director, International Scholar and Student Services

Email: ashley.wallace@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-8510

I can assist with:

Hiring foreign faculty and researchers

Visa/immigration documents 

Health insurance questions (International Students)

Rafael Fersaca

Advisor, International Students

Email: rafael.fersaca@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7261

I can assist with:

Student and Scholar Visa Questions

International Student internship/off-campus employment questions

International Student Immigration Questions: extension, enrollment, etc.

Colin Howlett

Advisor, International Students

Email: colin.howlett@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-6571

I can assist with:

Student Visa Questions

International Student internship/off-campus employment questions

International Student Immigration Questions: extension, enrollment, etc.

Study Abroad


Rosa Virginia Mendez

Program Manager, Study Abroad

Email: rosavirginia.mendez@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-8202

I can assist with:

Study Abroad Opportunities

Study Abroad Transcripts and Credits

General Study Abroad Questions

Patricia Santamaria

Program Specialist, Study Abroad

Email: patricia.santamaria@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-7203

English Language Center


Blanca Pokorney

Director, English Language Center

Email: blanca.pokorney@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-6136

I can assist with:

Consultation on the development and implementation of English as a Second Language Programs

Personal and academic advising for international students enrolled in the English Language Center Programs

Minako Shibazaki

Master Instructor and Lead Curriculum Specialist, English Language Center

Email: minako.shibazaki@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-7677

I can assist with:

Teaching, counseling, and assessing students enrolled in the English Language Center programs.

Choosing textbooks and designing lesson plans.

Teresa Valadez

Project Specialist, English Language Center

Email: teresa.valadez@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-7677

I can assist with:

English Language Center Programs application process

Conversation Partners and Conversation Club programs

Additional ESL resources (tutoring, workshops, campus resources)

Luz Torres Leon

Project Specialist

Email: luz.torresleon@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-7677

I can assist with:

English Language Center Programs application process

Conversation Partners and Conversation Club programs

Additional ESL resources (tutoring, workshops, campus resources)

Laila Aghai

ESL Specialist, English Language Center

Email: Laila.Aghai@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-8177

I can assist with :

English Language Center Services

English for Academic Purposes Program

 

Monique Adams

ESL Specialist

Email: monique.adams@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-8177

I can assist with:

English Language Center Services

English for Academic Purposes Program

TOEFL Exam

Sarah Munsell

ESL Specialist

Email: Sarah.munsell@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-8177

I can assist with:

English Language Center Services

English for Academic Purposes Program

TOEFL Exam